Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Former champions Sri Lanka and Bangladesh failed to qualify directly for the men’s T20 World Cup Super 12 due to their low ranking and now they have to take part in the group stage competition to make it a place in the 2020 tournament. The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday announced the qualifying teams for Super 12, including top-ranked Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan.

On the other hand, former champions and 3-time runners-up Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will have to play with six other qualifiers in the group stage of the tournament. The tournament will be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020. According to the qualification criteria, the top eight teams get place in Super 12 stage directly, while the other two teams will have to play in the group stage with the other teams.